The liver, brain, and bone tend to be ?hot spots? for metastatic colonization. However, what determines where specific tumor cells metastasize within the same patient and across patient populations remains poorly understood.

Created by Sara Gosline sgosline
Hi Aedin @aedinc we can look at cell stiffness directly...to complement/validate gene expression if it is relevant signature.
Hi I am a computational biologist. So I can contribute analyses of TCGA, GTeX, CCLE and any of your data. I am very excited to work on this. I am still mulling the mechanism of dissemination (blood, lymph)... But on cold/hot sites. I started extracting gene signatures of tumor cells exposed to different ligands or cytokines. The idea being that the transformed tumor microenvironment may provide molecules essential for the tumor. The signature should not be highly expressed by the normal non-malignant site. Using these signatures I have identified normal tissues with higher levels of the signature (AUC/ROC analysis) using the GTeX normal tissue atlas data. I have 1 signature that is not expressed in normal breast but is expressed by transformed fibroblasts, is expressed in ER+ breast tumors (bulk tissue) which have a strong propensity to bone and is highly expressed and specific to bone marrow. This signature is really low in other tissues.. so we may have a bone met signature for ER+ breast cancer ... this analysis came together very easily and it maybe a nice pipeline that we could apply systematically to address some of these questions. I have started looking at essentially genes (CRISPR) in different tumor cells lines, and this receptor is an essential gene in ER+ Breast cell lines. So perhaps we could make a list of all of the ligands that might be secreted by transformed microenvironment (that might be "additive" for the tumor). I can cross-check the list of receptors expressed by tumors against CRISPR/achilles to refine the list of signaling molecules that the tumor "needs". I can u